Texas Appeals Court Affirms Workers’ Compensation Bar in Swabco Truck Crash Case

| 2 Min Read
A Texas appeals court upheld summary judgment for Swabco, finding the worker’s evidence didn’t meet the substantial-certainty standard for intent to injure.

The ruling keeps the claim within the compensation framework

The Eighth District Court of Appeals affirmed summary judgment for Swabco Inc. in Huerta v. Swabco Inc., leaving Roberto Huerta’s workplace injury claim within Texas’ workers’ compensation exclusive-remedy framework. The court concluded that Huerta hadn’t shown Swabco was substantially certain its actions would injure him. That conclusion turned on the evidence presented in this case, including what the company knew about the truck and what Huerta himself said about its conduct. The distinction matters: allegations that an employer acted carelessly can describe a serious safety failure without necessarily establishing the level of intent required to escape the compensation framework.

Huerta and a coworker were hurt in October 2021 when a Swabco truck left a highway. Huerta sued in June 2022, alleging he’d reported suspension and steering problems and that Swabco knew continued use of the truck was substantially certain to cause an injury. Those allegations put the company’s knowledge and the meaning of its maintenance decisions at the center of the dispute. The appeal, however, wasn’t a general inquiry into whether the truck should have been used or whether its condition reflected poor judgment. The question described by the court was whether Huerta had evidence supporting the intent exception to the exclusive-remedy defense.

Evidence fell short of the intent exception

Swabco sought no-evidence summary judgment, arguing Huerta lacked evidence that the company specifically intended to injure him. The appeals court agreed that intent to injure was an exception to the exclusive-remedy defense and an element Huerta had to establish. In practical terms, the distinction sets a demanding evidentiary bar: proof that a risk was reported, or that an employer should have responded differently, doesn’t by itself establish that an injury was substantially certain to occur. The record has to support the required state of mind, not merely a conclusion that the conduct was unsafe.

The court said complaints about the truck could support claims of negligence or recklessness, but didn’t establish that an accident and injury were substantially certain. That’s a consequential line. A reported mechanical concern may put a company on notice of a possible hazard, while the intent exception asks for evidence that goes further than awareness of risk. The court’s reasoning doesn’t make maintenance complaints irrelevant; it treats them as insufficient, on this record, to prove the particular element Huerta needed to show.

The truck had been serviced 20 days before the crash, and maintenance records showed no serious defects. Huerta also testified he believed Swabco was negligent rather than intentionally trying to harm him. Those facts gave the court grounds to distinguish a claim of deficient care from a claim of deliberate or substantially certain injury. The timing of service doesn’t, on its own, settle what the company knew about every reported concern. But the records and Huerta’s testimony formed part of the evidence the court considered, and the opinion found that evidence inadequate for the intent exception.

This is more significant than it looks. In workplace injury disputes, the same sequence of events can raise different questions: whether a hazard existed, whether it was reported, whether the employer responded appropriately, and whether the employer possessed the degree of intent required by a particular legal exception. Those questions overlap, but they aren’t interchangeable. The ruling’s central message is that evidence supporting criticism of an employer’s safety practices may still fall short of evidence supporting an intentional-injury claim.

Spoliation argument was rejected on procedure

The court also rejected Huerta’s spoliation argument on procedural grounds. He hadn’t asked the trial court for a spoliation finding and hadn’t adequately briefed the issue on appeal. That means the court’s stated reason for rejecting the argument was how it had been raised and presented, rather than a determination described in the source about whether evidence had actually been destroyed or lost. Keeping that distinction clear matters when reading the decision: a procedural ruling doesn’t answer every factual question a party may have raised outside the issue properly before the appeals court.

Appeals depend on more than the underlying account of an incident. A party generally has to present an issue in a way that gives the trial court and the appellate court a basis to address it; here, the opinion identified shortcomings at both stages. That’s a practical lesson for anyone following the case, though it doesn’t change the separate conclusion about the intent exception. The court rejected the spoliation argument for procedural reasons and affirmed summary judgment based on the evidence relevant to the claim.

What the decision signals for workplace claims

The decision underscores the distinct evidentiary threshold for invoking the intent exception in a workers’ compensation case. It doesn’t establish that reported mechanical problems can never support such a claim, or that recent servicing resolves every question about a vehicle’s condition. It does show that, in this case, the reported concerns, maintenance records, and testimony didn’t persuade the court that Swabco was substantially certain its actions would injure Huerta. The difference between a foreseeable danger and a substantially certain injury remained decisive.

If you’re working in this space, the practical point is to keep the evidence tied to the element being argued. Records of reported defects may help establish notice; service records may bear on what was inspected or recorded; testimony may clarify what a worker understood about the employer’s conduct. But a collection of facts pointing to possible carelessness doesn’t automatically prove intent. The court’s analysis turned on that gap. And this is the part most people overlook: the seriousness of an injury doesn’t itself answer the separate question of what the employer knew or intended before the incident.

For employers and workers alike, the ruling also shows why the record matters at the summary-judgment stage. A dispute can involve a grave crash and alleged warnings about equipment, yet still be decided by whether the evidence supports the specific legal standard at issue. That said, the opinion’s account doesn’t provide a basis to generalize about every maintenance dispute or every workers’ compensation claim. The holding is narrower: Huerta hadn’t established the intent exception on the evidence and arguments before the court.

The outcome leaves the compensation framework in place for Huerta’s claim against Swabco. A reported problem, a recent service visit, and a later crash can each matter, but their significance depends on what they show about the required element. In this appeal, the court found they didn’t show substantial certainty of injury. A difficult boundary to prove.

Source: Louise Esola · www.businessinsurance.com

Comments

Please sign in to comment.