Tennessee Board Reverses Additional Disability Benefits Award in Topgolf Knee Case

| 2 Min Read
The board ruled that a second surgery recommendation alone didn’t undo the worker’s earlier maximum medical improvement finding.

The ruling separates treatment from wage benefits

The Tennessee Workers Compensation Appeals Board ruled that a later knee surgery recommendation, by itself, didn’t support renewed temporary disability benefits for a Topgolf bartender. The decision leaves in place Topgolf’s obligation to provide additional medical treatment it had agreed to cover. Those are distinct parts of the dispute: whether Patrick’s care may continue, and whether she met the medical basis for restarting temporary disability payments.

That distinction matters because a recommendation for more care doesn’t automatically answer what a worker can do on the job or whether an earlier medical assessment should still govern. Treatment can continue after a physician has declared maximum medical improvement. The board’s decision keeps that possibility open while rejecting the trial court’s conclusion that the later recommendation alone justified additional benefits.

In Jayne-Anne Patrick v. Topgolf, the board affirmed in part, reversed in part and remanded a Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims ruling. Patrick injured her left knee on June 1, 2024, when she slipped on a wet floor while restocking a beer cooler. Topgolf accepted the claim and paid some medical and temporary disability benefits.

The account of the case establishes that the injury happened at work and that Topgolf accepted the claim. It doesn’t describe a dispute over whether the incident occurred, or provide details about the amount or duration of the benefits initially paid. The appeal centered on what followed her first surgery and how the medical record supported the later request for payments.

Why the medical timeline mattered

Patrick had surgery for a torn meniscus in January 2025. Her treating physician declared maximum medical improvement in June 2025, assigned a 1% impairment rating and imposed no work restrictions. Topgolf then stopped temporary disability payments. A later physician recommended revision knee arthroscopy, prompting the trial court to award additional benefits from the recommendation date.

Each step addressed a different point in the medical timeline. The first surgery treated the meniscus injury; the treating physician later concluded Patrick had reached maximum medical improvement and set out an impairment rating without work restrictions. The later recommendation raised the prospect of another procedure, but the board said that recommendation alone didn’t undo the earlier assessment.

Here’s the thing: the existence of a possible next treatment step and the evidentiary basis for restarting wage benefits aren’t interchangeable. A recommendation may show that a physician sees a reason to consider further care. On the board’s reasoning, it doesn’t by itself establish that the earlier maximum medical improvement finding was premature or should be withdrawn.

The numbers here are underwhelming in one sense: the record described in the decision includes a 1% impairment rating and no work restrictions. But those details don’t settle every later medical question. A subsequent recommendation can still matter to treatment, even where the prior physician’s assessment remains relevant to the separate question of temporary disability.

The board’s reasoning

The appeals board reversed that benefits award. Its reasoning: a recommendation for further treatment doesn’t alone displace an earlier maximum medical improvement finding. Patrick needed medical evidence that the original finding was premature or should be withdrawn. The distinction turns on the medical basis for revisiting that finding, while Topgolf’s agreed treatment obligation remains in place.

This is more significant than it looks. The board focused on what the later recommendation proved, rather than treating the recommendation itself as enough to restart benefits. In disputes involving successive medical opinions, the key issue can be whether the later evidence addresses the earlier conclusion directly. Here, as described by the board, the necessary connection wasn’t established by the recommendation alone.

That said, the ruling doesn’t erase the later physician’s recommendation or end the agreed obligation to provide additional medical treatment. It limits what that recommendation could support in this particular benefits decision. The board’s partial affirmation, partial reversal and remand also mean the lower court’s ruling wasn’t simply left intact; the matter returns for further proceedings consistent with the board’s decision.

(And this is the part most people overlook.) A decision about wage replacement can turn on the supporting medical record even when the employer has accepted the underlying claim and agreed to cover care. The two questions may move on separate tracks. One concerns treatment; the other concerns whether the evidence supports temporary disability payments.

What the decision signals

For workers and employers, the case illustrates why the timing and content of medical opinions matter. An earlier maximum medical improvement finding may remain part of the record after another doctor recommends a procedure. To revisit the earlier finding for purposes of benefits, the board said Patrick needed medical evidence that it was premature or should be withdrawn.

If you’re working in this space, the practical point is to read a treatment recommendation for what it actually says. A proposed procedure may describe a clinician’s view of care, while questions about work capacity and the status of an earlier medical conclusion require their own support. The source facts don’t provide the later physician’s full reasoning, so the board’s decision shouldn’t be stretched into a broader claim about what revision arthroscopy means in every case.

Nor does the ruling establish that further surgery can never support a change in benefits. It says the recommendation, standing alone, wasn’t enough here. That boundary is narrow but useful: new treatment may remain available under an agreed obligation, while renewed temporary disability benefits require evidence that addresses the medical finding on which the earlier payments stopped.

The remand leaves the lower court to proceed under that distinction. The record provided doesn’t say what further proceedings will produce, and it gives no basis for predicting their result. For now, the clearest takeaway is the board’s separation of ongoing medical care from the evidentiary threshold for renewed wage benefits. A recommendation can keep treatment in view. More is needed to unsettle the earlier finding.

Source: Louise Esola · www.businessinsurance.com

Comments

Please sign in to comment.