New York Court Affirms Denial of Correction Sergeant’s PTSD Claim

| 2 Min Read
A New York appeals court upheld the denial, finding a 2025 PTSD claim provision did not apply retroactively and substantial evidence supported the board.

The incident and the claim

The denial of a correction sergeant’s PTSD claim stands after New York’s Appellate Division, Third Department, ruled that a new statutory provision didn’t apply to the Workers’ Compensation Board’s earlier decision. The ruling turns on both timing and the legal standard the board applied. The court didn’t decide the claim under the later provision; it assessed whether the board’s 2024 decision should be disturbed under the law then in effect.

The sergeant was working at Albion Correctional Facility in 2023 when an incarcerated person she knew from prior employment suffered a medical emergency. She and a nurse brought the person to the hospital unit. When the person became unresponsive, the sergeant and others performed CPR and used an automated defibrillator. The person died.

Those facts describe a serious and emotionally difficult event, but the legal question was narrower than whether the experience could cause trauma. The workers’ compensation process required the board to assess the claim under the applicable statutory rules and the evidence before it. That distinction can be hard to see in a case involving a death at work: the gravity of an incident and whether it meets a particular legal test aren’t the same inquiry.

How the claim reached the court

After seeking mental health care, the sergeant was diagnosed with PTSD and filed a workers’ compensation claim. A workers’ compensation law judge established the claim, but the board later disallowed it in October 2024. The sergeant appealed, arguing that a statutory provision concerning certain mental health claims supported her position.

The provision bars denying specified claims for PTSD, acute stress disorder and major depressive disorder on the ground that the stress was no greater than workers normally experience. The wording matters: it addresses a particular basis for denying a claim, rather than making every diagnosis compensable automatically. A diagnosis may establish the condition a claimant has, while the statute and the record determine whether the claim qualifies for benefits.

That division between medical evidence and the legal standard is central to many workplace injury disputes. The medical record can explain a worker’s condition and treatment, while the board must also decide whether the facts satisfy the governing requirements. Here, the dispute on appeal included whether the new provision changed the rule that applied to the board’s decision.

Why the later provision did not control

The court rejected the sergeant’s argument because the provision took effect June 4, 2025, after the board’s October 2024 ruling. It concluded that the provision didn’t apply retroactively. The result leaves the board’s decision to be judged under the law that applied when it acted, rather than under a later change.

This is more significant than it looks. In claims that move through administrative review and appeal, a change in the law may arrive after an agency has already ruled. Whether that change reaches earlier decisions depends on the legal rules governing its effective date and retroactive application. A later statute can alter the framework for future cases without necessarily reopening decisions made before it took effect.

That said, the timing point doesn’t resolve what the law will mean in claims governed by the new provision. The court addressed the sergeant’s appeal from the earlier board ruling. It didn’t use that appeal to decide how every future claim involving these diagnoses should be evaluated.

The first responder exception

The court also found that correction officers aren’t included in the statutory exception for certain first responders and emergency personnel. The sergeant’s involvement in the emergency, including performing CPR and using an automated defibrillator, didn’t bring her within that exception. The court said that CPR or first-aid training doesn’t qualify an officer as someone certified to provide emergency medical care.

Here’s the thing: responding to a medical crisis and holding a formal certification for emergency medical care are different facts under the reasoning described in the ruling. The sergeant took part in efforts to help the person, but the court didn’t treat that conduct as a substitute for the certification described by the statutory exception. (And this is the part most people overlook.) The legal category turns on the criteria in the statute, not solely on how demanding or urgent the event was.

If you’re working in this space, the distinction is a reminder that job duties, training and statutory classifications may each matter in a compensation dispute. The ruling doesn’t diminish the seriousness of the response. It explains why the court concluded that the response didn’t establish eligibility for this particular exception.

The board’s finding and what remains

Citing substantial evidence, the court upheld the board’s finding that the sergeant’s stress didn’t exceed what similarly situated workers would experience in a normal work environment. That finding supplied the basis for leaving the claim disallowed under the law applicable to the board’s 2024 decision. The appellate court’s task was to review the board’s determination against the record and the governing standard, not to replace it with a fresh assessment of the event.

The phrase “similarly situated workers” signals that the comparison was tied to the work context considered by the board. It doesn’t mean the court found the incident ordinary in everyday terms, nor does the ruling say that the sergeant’s distress wasn’t real. It means the board applied a legal comparison and the court found substantial evidence supporting its conclusion.

For the sergeant, the immediate result is clear: the denial stands. The ruling also illustrates the limits of what can be inferred from a serious incident and a diagnosis alone. The outcome rested on the statute’s effective date, the scope of its exception, and the board’s evidentiary finding. A difficult event. A narrow legal question.

Source: Louise Esola · www.businessinsurance.com

Comments

Please sign in to comment.